Stanning for Crab Cakes

Last night, I finally made it to The Munch Factory, a black family owned restaurant in Gentilly, nearly 10 minutes away from home. The Munch Factory has been open for a while now and I’ve been trying to get there for MONTHSSSS! Last night, I decided to do what I damn well pleased and took myself to dinner. I contemplated it because I was wearing sweatpants and knew that if I went home to change, I wouldn’t find my way back. So I sucked it up and walked in, and was greeted by the nicest waitress ever. She reminded me of my cousin’s best friend whose family was straight from the 7th Ward/Gentilly area. She didn’t stutter when I said “table for one please” and let me to a well lit table.

One thing that got my heart pumping about The Munch Factory is the fact that there’s a sweetened or unsweetened tea option. I’m as southern as they come and believe my blood type is Sweet Tea Positive. I gleefully ordered a sweet tea and perused the menu.

DING DING DING!!!

Crab cakes caught my eye. Y’all. I stan for crab cakes. If a restaurant has crab cakes, I order them. I especially stan for remoulade sauce. Munch Factory has a crab cake appetizer with homemade remoulade sauce and when I took my first bite, I had to muffle the moan that tried to creep out my mouth. I wasn’t going to make my dinner alone even more awkward, mkay!

I ordered my dinner and as I waited, I noticed the couple next to me playfully clanking their spoons together while sharing a bowl of bread pudding. After I rolled my eyes at the lameness of the moment, I decided I’d order bread pudding for dessert–to go and eat it in my bed with no pants on while watching Brown Sugar (my all-time favorite movie)! And that is just what I did…

Anyways, dinner came and I smiled brightly at the Buffalo Shrimp Salad with mixed greens topped with bacon, tomatoes, and large fried shrimp, then drizzled with buffalo sauce and ranch dressing. I’m a huge fan of loaded salads and this was one of the best! The buffalo sauce was spicy (obviously!) but the ranch balanced it out well!

THIS JUST IN!

As I’m writing this post, I check online to see the menu and guess who I see on the website? MY WAITRESS! Apparently Alexis lives a double life as the owner and wife of head chef, Jordan Ruiz. What an honor!

Check out the photos below of my meal and be sure to visit The Munch Factory! Word on the street is that they just got their liquor license so you know what that means!!!!!

Crab Cakes!

My “I just had a really good meal and/or it’s happy hour” Face.

-Angie

2 thoughts on “Stanning for Crab Cakes

Leave a comment