Gracious Grub

Today was one of those “I look/feel too good to go home” kinds of days. I was frolicking around Uptown in my new favorite Tiffany Blue dress from Forever 21 and looked like a sight to behold. My braids were doing something fabulous. My blush sparkled in the sunshine. The color I got on my nails brings me all the joy in the world. My car didn’t make that strange squeaking noise. Frankly, I was feeling good and I haven’t felt like that in a while. And it doesn’t help that a fellow black queen, My First Lady, had some beautiful things to say about Queen Maya Angelou and it just made me feel all beautiful and powerful inside.

IMG_0071

Trillmobile selfies are the best selfies.

And as I’m driving, with Chrisette Michele playing, my stomach grumbled for something strong and something savory, and I remember seeing a photo of an almond croissant from this new bakery with a really pretty serif G as its logo. (You know I live for good, clean branding.) So, I asked Siri for directions to “Gracious Bakery” and he (I changed it to the man voice so I can feel like I run the world by giving the man orders. don’t ask) led to the perfect place.

I walked in and immediately ordered a coffee and the almond croissant. The lovely girl behind the counter sadly told me they were sold out and before I had a fit, I found the savory brioche and said “give me one of those doohinkeys.” Yes, I really say that and you people wonder why I’m still single. I took my brunch (if I call it brunch, it will make me think this is a brunch situation just without the mimosa) and found a table outside and bit into that damn brioche and got.my.life. And the coffee, a New Orleans cold-drip iced coffee, was perfectly strong and sweet in all the right places.

Oh, that sounds bad.

IMG_0070

Something strong and something savory.

But that coffee was perfect. I also got a chocolate croissant to go and bit into before I got home. I was immediately sent back to my first day in Paris when I bought the same pastry and fell hard in love.

So, if you’re looking for a quiet Mid-City place with fancy French pastries and according to one of my twitter friends, a really addictive meatloaf sandwich, head over to Gracious Bakery on S. Jeff Davis (right across the street from Fox 8-WVUE and Xavier University).

Bon appétit!

Angie

Leave a Reply

