B is for Brunch and Birthdays!

Today, I was late for brunch. I had been up since 7:30 a.m. watching movies, basking in the glow of Sunday morning and washing my dirty clothes. 11:30 came and went and I was late for the brunch I arranged for my girl Shandy’s birthday. She is my kindred spirit when it comes to brunch. WE LIVE FOR BRUNCH. Today’s lunch spot was Mondo, owned by famous NOLA chef and a very delightful woman Susan Spicer. And baby when I tell you, it was AMAZING!

We sat at a bar table because it was game day (WHO DAT!) and of course, I struggled to get on the chair. We first ordered drinks. I started with a mimosa…then Shandy ordered a White Sangria and it called my name!

Candy is dandy but liquor is quicker.

We then ordered our food and it was beyond our expectations.

Pancakes a make her dance!

Shandy, Sherard, Carlyn and I ordered the Silver Dollar pancakes with Caramelized Banana Butter. The most perfect pancakes ever! I ate the entire plate, and if you know me, you know that I NEVER clean my plate. The pancakes were as fluffy as can be and the butter, while it looks overwhelming was the perfect combination of sweet and salty. We fawned over it and I declared my loyalty to them.

Then came our second dose of awesomeness! Carlyn ordered two eggs with grilled andouille and stoneground grits and I got the same but with Nueske applewood smoked bacon. But lawd! The andouille sausage was HUGE! Of course, I managed to make a crude joke. What’s brunch without a crude joke?! 🙂

See! It is big!

And now for some random pics of my really good looking friends and their meals!

My best friend Whitney and her fresh prosciutto, spinach and gruyere omelet!

Shandy and Sherard ordered the carnitas migas (eggs and pork scrambled with tortillas with avocado salsa)! So yummy! 

Boy Briscoe in his fancy bowtie and Whitney discussing something. I kinda tuned them out when my white sangria came to the table! LOL

Happy birthday Shandy!!! And it really is her birthday!

Despite the Saints losing, today was a great day! Stop by Mondo for brunch on Sundays for a happy hour special and delightful meals!

Angie

One thought on “B is for Brunch and Birthdays!

Leave a Reply

