Brunch in Love

It’s been months since I’ve sat my butt in someone’s brunch spot. I don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s my inability to wake up at a decent hour on the weekends. A sistah is just tired, y’all. But yesterday, after three hours of sitting with foil in my hair (I went blonde…again!), so much foil I could have gotten those channels we refuse to pay $20 for, I met Shandy for brunch at Biscuits & Buns on Banks.

This place, a refurbished NOLA shotgun house, is perfect in every sense of the word. The service was perfect, the decor (which contained chalkboard numbered tables…we were at table 4- shout out to Queen Bey), the FOOD. Bruh, the food.  As I’m walking down the street to the restaurant, I say a quick prayer to the Most High that they serve chicken and waffles. I get in there, check out the menu…BOOM, chicken and waffles. Ain’t He awesome?

There was a precious coffee mug on the table with the restaurant’s logo on it: an ampersand with a graphic of a spoon and a fork interlinked into it. I got a coffee just because of the mug. Then I bought the mug. After gushing to the waitress about how much we loved B&B on B (ain’t that cute? I just made that up!), we discovered that we pay our bill using an iPad and it was the cutest, most effective method! No waiting for the check, then waiting for them to come back. Sistah Girl swiped Shandy’s card (FYI, she treated me to brunch and I ain’t eeem know it til she said, “I got it!” she’s the best!) and boom, we were done.

If you’re looking for a new brunch spot, pray for patience as you tackle Banks Street (it’s a mess right now) and head over to Biscuits and Buns on Banks and GET YOUR LIFE.

Wishing you all a happy holiday season. That's me giving serious face in 1st grade for the sake of Christmas.

Wishing you all a happy holiday season. That’s me giving serious face in 1st grade for the sake of Christmas.

Cute mug that I currently

Cute mug that I currently own!

B&B's biscuits with cane syrup flavored butter. HEAVENLY!

B&B’s biscuits with cane syrup flavored butter. HEAVENLY!

Beautiful artwork gracing the walls of B&B. It felt like home.

Beautiful artwork gracing the walls of B&B. It felt like home.

We were at Table 4. ***Flawless. (word to Beyonce)

We were at Table 4. We woke up like this.

My chicken and waffles!

My chicken and waffles!

Shandy's egg and sausage meal!

Shandy’s egg and sausage meal!

Pretty design on the ground outside the front door!

Pretty design on the ground outside the front door!

Fun words of wisdom gracing the outside of B&B.

Fun words of wisdom gracing the outside of B&B.

Leave a Reply

