The Makings of a Good Idea: Anniversary Version

Fun fact guys…Meals with Angie turns 1 this month. How about them apples?! This might be the longest commitment I’ve had since my blonde highlights (rimshot).  In fact, I did a post about Shandy’s 25th birthday brunch and as we sit on the sofa, I’m like, “GIRL. IT’S BEEN A YEAR!” And because it’s the blog’s birthday and my homegirl Shandy’s birthday today, here’s a post dedicated to all the Libras in the hiz-ouse!

Last night, we headed to Domenica, John Besh’s fabulous Italian spot in the legendary Roosevelt Hotel for happy hour and Shandy’s pre-birthday celebration. I’ve lived in New Orleans my whole life and never been inside of The Roosevelt. There was that time, when the Saints won the Superbowl and we thought someone was shooting on Canal. Someone told me to run and I ran like Sonic the Hedgehog down the street and figured The Roosevelt was a safe spot. So, it was nice to go there with good intentions, ya know!

We all ordered mango and peach bellinis and with one sip, I felt like I woke up on a Sunday midmorning. Carlyn exclaimed that if a “good idea” had a taste, it would taste like that bellini. Pizzas were on deck (they’re half off for happy hour!!) and I devoured the half pepperoni and half spicy lamb meatball with broccoli and ricotta. They were not playing when they said “SPICY” lamb meatballs. I mean, it’s like spice simmering on the side of your mouth. But it was fabulous!! The restaurant was beautiful, simply decorated and definitely a cute date spot (for all those participating in the Cuffing Season, I’ll pass on that this year, THANKS -_-).

Peep the photos below and everyone go wish my girl Shandy a happy birthday!! She made it over the ant hill y’all!

Even Blue wanted to wish Shandy a happy birthday. She's excited, she's just waiting for her slice of Gentilly Berry cake.

Even Blue wanted to wish Shandy a happy birthday. She’s excited, she’s just waiting for her slice of Gentilly Berry cake.

Le Roosevelt. Ain't it fancy?

Le Roosevelt. Ain’t it fancy?

Pizza time!

Pizza time!

Whitney was telling us how she almost got accosted on Canal while walking the restaurant. #SayRed

Whitney was telling us how she almost got accosted on Canal while walking the restaurant. #SayRed

Shandy and Carlyn studying the menu.

Shandy and Carlyn studying the menu.

This place reeks of charm, romance and sexiness.

This place reeks of charm, romance and sexiness.

The Good Idea Mango Bellini.

The Good Idea Mango Bellini.

Leave a Reply

